April 5, 2016

During a faculty meeting held at the Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory on March 16, we honored twelve Johns Hopkins Engineering instructors for their dedication and innovation in the classroom.

Balancing teaching with their own careers, our instructors work tirelessly to provide an educational experience that is both challenging and highly relevant for today's students.

Rob is a great instructor, one student commented when asked about Rob Ivester, his Mechanical Engineering instructor. He kept the course content engaging by using many interesting real-world examples and stories from his personal experience.

This was the most organized course [I have] taken online, noted another student about a class co-taught by Deborah Kopsick and Seema Schappelle for our Environmental Planning and Management program. They were always very responsive, turned around grades quickly with useful feedback, and were always knowledgeable on the topics covered in class.

Congratulations to all of this year's award recipients.

Excellence in Teaching Awards
Maria Ermolaeva
Computer Science
Charles Fidler
Systems Engineering
Erin Hein
Systems Engineering
Rob Ivester
Mechanical Engineering
William Liggett
Technical Management
Steven Shinn
Technical Management
New Instructor Awards
Timothy Davis
Systems Engineering
Jeffrey Garonzik
Computer Science
Anil Maybhate
Applied Biomedical Engineering
Exceptional Online Course Design Awards
Ramsey Hourani
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Deborah Kopsick
Environmental Planning and Management
Seema Schappelle
Environmental Planning and Management