Education History

  • Ph.D. Mechanical Engineering, University of California, Los Angeles

Work Experience

Assistant Professor, Johns Hopkins University


1. Becky Tu-Sekine, Abinash Padhi, Sunghee Jin, Jade West, Srivathsan Kalyan*, Karanpreet Singh, Rakesh Kapania, SJ. Claire Hur, Amrinder Nain, Sanwon F. Kim, “Inositol Polyphosphate Multikinase is a Metformin Target that Regulates Cell Migration”, FASEB Journal (Accepted, 2019)
2. Mengxing Ouyang*, Jung Hyun Lee, Winfield Hill, SJ Claire Hur, “Microscale Symmetrical Electroporator Array as a Versatile Molecular Delivery System”, Scientific Reports, 7, 44757; doi:10.1038/srep44757(2017) [Impact factor: 4.525, Times Cited: 6]
3. Dwayne A. L. Vickers*, Mengxing Ouyang*, Chris Hyunseok Choi*, and SJ Claire Hur, “Direct Drug Cocktail Analyses using Microscale Vortex-assisted Electroporation”, Analytical Chemistry, 2014, 86, 10099-10105. [Impact factor: 6.35, Times Cited: 4]
4. Dwayne A. L. Vickers* and SJ Claire Hur, “Microscale Vortex-assisted Electroporator for Sequential Molecular Delivery”, Journal of Visualized Experiments, 2014, 90, e51702, doi: 10.3791/51702. [Impact factor: 1.108, Times Cited: 0]
5. Hoyoung Yun* and SJ Claire Hur, “Sequential Multi-molecule Delivery using Vortex-assisted Electroporation”, Lab on a Chip, 2013, 13, 2764-2772 (Selected as Backside Cover Page Article) [Impact factor: 6.914, Times Cited: 17]
6. SJ Claire Hur, Tatiana Z. Brinckerhoff, Christopher M. Walthers, James C. Y. Dunn, and Dino Di Carlo, “Label-free Enrichment of Adrenal Cortical Progenitor Cells using Inertial Microfluidics”, PLoS ONE, 2012, 7 (10): e46550 (Featured in BioTechniques, Top 25% most cited article in 2017) [Impact factor: 2.776, Times Cited: 42]
7. Keisuke Goda, Ali Ayazi, Daniel R. Gossett, Jagannath Sadasivam, Cejo K. Lonappan, Elodie Sollier, Ali Fard, SJ Claire Hur, Jost Adam, Coleman Murray, Cao Wang, Nora Brackbill, Dino Di Carlo, and Bahram Jalali, “High-throughput Single-microparticle Imaging Flow Analyzer”, PNAS, 2012, 109 (29), 11630-11635 [Impact factor: 9.58, Times Cited: 275]
8. SJ Claire Hur, Sung-Eun Choi, Sunghoon Kwon and Dino Di Carlo, “Inertial Focusing of Non-spherical Particles”, Applied Physics Letters, 2011, 99, 044101 [Impact factor: 3.521, Times Cited: 87]
9. SJ Claire Hur, Albert J. Mach and Dino Di Carlo, “High-throughput Size Based Rare Cell Enrichment using Microscale Vortices”, Biomicrofluidics 2011, 5, 1, 1-10 [Impact factor: 2.531, Times Cited: 264]
10. SJ Claire Hur, Nicole K. Henderson-MacLennan, Edward R.B. McCabe and Dino Di Carlo, “Deformability-based Cell Classification and Enrichment using Inertial Microfluidics”, Lab on a Chip, 2011, 11, 912-920 [Impact factor: 6.914, Times Cited: 448]
11. Albert Mach, Jae Kim, Armin Arshi, SJ. Claire Hur and Dino Di Carlo, “Automation of Cellular Sample Preparation using a Centrifuge-on-a-chip”, Lab on a chip, 2011, 11, 2827-2834 (Selected as Cover Page Article, Highlighted as HOT article in Lab on a Chip Blog) [Impact factor: 6.914, Times Cited: 236]
12. Youngjae Chun, SJ Claire Hur, Colin Kealey, Daniel S. Levi, Dino Di Carlo, KP Mohanchandra, Fernando Vinuela, and Gregory P. Carman, “A Novel Neurovascular Stent Covered in Stretchable Thin Film NiTi Significantly Decreases Flow into a Wide-Neck Aneurysm In Vitro”, Smart materials and structures, 2011, 20, 055021 [Impact factor: 3.543, Times Cited: 8]
13. SJ Claire Hur, Henry T. K. Tse and Dino Di Carlo, “Sheathless Inertial Cell Ordering for Extreme Throughput Flow Cytometry”, Lab on a Chip, 2010,10, 274-280 (Selected as Cover Page Article, Highlighted in Chemical Biology News) [Impact factor: 6.914, Times Cited: 311]
14. Colin P. Kealey. S.A. Whelan, Youngjae Chun, SJ Claire Hur, Alan W. Tulloch, K.P. Mohanchandra, Dino Di Carlo, Daniel S. Levi, Gregory P. Carman, David A. Rigberg, “In vitro Hemocompatibility of Thin Film Nitinol in Stenotic Flow Conditions”, Biomaterials, 2010, 31, 8864-8871 [Impact factor: 10.273, Times Cited: 32]
15. Daniel R. Gossett, Westbrook M. Weave, Albert J. Mach, SJ Claire Hur, Henry T.K. Tse, Wonhee Lee, Hamed Amini and Dino Di Carlo, “Label-free Cell Separation and Sorting in Microfluidic Systems”, Analytical and Bioanalytical Chemistry 2010, 397,3249-3267 [Impact factor: 3.307, Times Cited: 754]

Honors and Awards

  • Career Catalyst Research Award, Susan G. Komen® (2019)
  • Discovery Award, Johns Hopkins University (2019)
  • WSE faculty presenter for 2019 Hopkins on the Hill, Johns Hopkins University (2019)
  • 1st Place Faculty Poster Award, 15th US-Korea Forum on Nanotechnology (2018)
  • Whiting School of Engineering Junior Faculty Award, Johns Hopkins Medicine (2018)
  • WiSTEM2D Scholar, Johnson and Johnson (2018)
  • Clare Boothe Luce Assistant Professorship, Johns Hopkins University (2017)
  • Young Generation Leadership Award, KSEA (2016)
  • Rising Stars in EECS (MIT), An Academic Career Workshop for Women (2013)
  • Rowland Fellowship, Rowland Institute at Harvard University (2011)
  • Edward K. Rice Outstanding Doctoral Student Award, UCLA HSSEAS (2011)
  • NSF ADVANCE Distinguished post-doctoral and doctoral student speaker series (Cal Poly Pomona) (2010)
  • Tony B. Award (academic travel support for the LabAutomation) (2010)
  • UCLA Dean’s Special Graduate Fellowship (2005)
  • Newstar Real Estate Company Scholarship (2005)
  • UCLA MAE Department Chevron Scholarship (2005)
  • Henry Samueli School of Engineering and Applied Science Academic Scholarship (2004)
  • Member of Tau Beta Pi (National Engineering Honor Society) (2003)

Professional Organizations